Airbnb Shopping List

Smart Locks for Airbnb: Great Options for Hosts

We have used quite a few smart locks over the years for our Airbnb properties and wanted to give you the breakdown on which ones we liked best. Here is the list of our best smart locks for Airbnb:

Our Favorite Smart Locks for Airbnb and Vacation Rentals

Our favorite smart lock for Airbnb is the August Smart Lock Pro with the August Smart Keypad. With its simple operation, keypad functionality, excellent smartphone app, and overall durability, it is the clear winner for Airbnb hosts.

Other smart locks for Airbnb that we like:

So, why are these smart locks the best options for your Airbnb? I’ll break down each of these locks, including the pros/ cons to help you make the best-informed decision before diving into the world of smart locks.

Do I Need a Smart Lock for Airbnb?

You absolutely need a smart lock for your Airbnb and here’s why. First, your guests will appreciate a contactless, keyless entry. This has become the norm for short-term rentals and guests are quite familiar with how to use them.

Second, it allows your guests to self-check in and out without having to wait for you to arrive. The smart lock lets everyone staying in your Airbnb enter and exit without having to keep up with keys. No more physical keys!

Third, we love the smart lock since it keeps us from having to answer a middle-of-the-night call from a guest who is locked out and needs us to come with a key. Most modern smart locks provide the ability to access the door remotely.

Fourth, this lock cannot be picked or finagled like a traditional key lock. Plus, it gives you a history of who is coming and going from the property.

Last, you can assign access codes to people who regularly come to the Airbnb property. We have an access code for the home cleaners, pest control, and other services we use on a regular basis.

We are not the only ones who love smart locks for our Airbnb properties. AirHostsForum owners J and D say, “We put in a Schlage Encode lock about 18 months ago. It’s fantastic! You can set up to different 30 codes, I can access all the controls remotely, it will alert me (if I choose) when the door is opened. It locks itself after 2 minutes (or a time delay I choose). The setup requires Wi-Fi only. We are delighted with it.”

How Do You Use a Smart Lock on Airbnb?

Using a smart door lock on your Airbnb eliminates many security issues that can otherwise plague your rental process. Having a Wi-Fi or Bluetooth-capable lock lets us keep track of who is coming and going from our rental property and frees up time we would use to let guests in at check-in.

Installing a smart lock on our Airbnb property was as easy as replacing the current deadbolt with the new lock. While you can choose a smart lock with or without a keypad, we like the ones that let you share access with your guests so they can open the door with Bluetooth.

We invite our guests to download and install the app for our smart door lock so they can have access 24/7 during their stay. Once they access the app, they can open the door anytime they are nearby. So easy!

Installation for Keyless Smart Locks

Installing a keyless smart door lock is easy. While the exact instructions will accompany a smart lock, the process only takes around ten minutes.

  1. Locate the deadbolt lock.
  2. Disconnect the thumb latch.
  3. Attach the smart lock mounting plate.
  4. Attach the smart lock adapter.
  5. Open the wing latches and connect the new lock.
  6. Remove the smart lock faceplate.
  7. Remove the tab that protects the batteries.
  8. Replace the faceplate.
  9. Install door sensors that let you know when the door opens and closes.
  10. Done!

Connect to the app:

  1. Download the proper app from the App Store.
  2. Set up your account.
  3. Add the lock to your account.
  4. Name the lock (i.e., front door lock)
  5. Connect your new smart lock to the Wi-Fi.
  6. Set up the integration with your smart home features.

Other benefits of having a smart lock on your Airbnb property connected to your other smart home technology are that you can set up the lights to come on when someone unlocks the door. You can also set the thermostat to a certain temperature for each new guest booking.

Factors to Consider When Selecting a Smart Lock for Your Airbnb

Not all smart door locks are the same! We look for these specific qualities when selecting a smart lock for our Airbnb properties.

Ease of Installation

No one wants to spend half a day installing a smart lock so the ease of installation is important. Choosing a smart lock that fits over the interior portion of the deadbolt is about as easy as it gets as far as installation goes. Once the smart lock is retrofitted over the existing lock (and be sure to measure your door lock to ensure the right fit), you use the app to set the lock.

Automatic Locking

Guests come and go, especially when there are multiple people staying together, so we like a smart lock that automatically locks once the door is closed. This ensures that guests never accidentally leave the door unlocked, protecting our property and their belongings.

Keypad Entry

Some of our properties have a keypad entry but are able to control the lock from anywhere. We like to share an access code for entry with our guests that they can use while they are there. Most keypad smart locks have unlimited combinations to make your Airbnb property secure while granting access to various renters.

Tampering Notifications

Smart door locks will send us tampering notifications when our property is not rented, allowing us to know if someone is trying to enter. The lock will send an alert when there are multiple incorrect code attempts which is another layer of security for our Airbnb.

Connects Easily with the Other Smart Features

Another feature we look for when choosing a smart door lock is how easily it integrates with the other smart home technology at our properties. We like smart locks that connect with Alexa, Apple HomeKit, Google Assistant, Samsung SmartThings, and others.

Durable

We have to change our smart locks about every 5-7 years because the mechanisms can wear out over time. Durability is essential for Airbnb properties that see high use.

Our Top Pick: August Smart Lock Pro + August Smart Keypad

It turns out that August Home is one of the top-performing and trusted brands for home technology. August has an entire line of products that link together to provide a seamless entry experience into your home.

$230.00 $279.99
3 new from $230.00
10 used from $144.99
Free shipping
Amazon Amazon.com
Last update was on: May 28, 2024

How Do Hosts Use August Smart Lock?

The August Smart Lock Pro replaces the interior side of your deadbolt and operates the lock using battery-powered housing. Check out this quick video to get a summary of the features for August smart locks:

Deadbolt is Required

You need to have a deadbolt to use this Airbnb smart lock. It is easy to install to your existing deadbolt by removing the interior faceplate/ lever and installing the August Smart Lock Pro over the opening.

If you have a deadbolt above and a regular locked lever below, you’ll need to replace the main lever to a “no-lock” version. Otherwise, guests will inevitably lock the bottom lock on their way out, and be calling you to get them back into the house because they don’t have a key.

Operate Lock from the August App

You can control this smart lock via the August app and can control it from anywhere, which makes it easy if you operate an Airbnb or vacation rental from afar.

August Smart Keypad

If you decide to go with the August Smart Lock Pro, you will need to buy the additional August Smart Keypad. This stand-alone keypad links to your smart lock via Bluetooth and allows unique access codes to be set up for each guest.

Door Sense

We also like that the August Smart Lock Pro also has Door Sense, which is a sensor that alerts you if your door is left open, or not closed all the way, and it also notifies you when the door is securely shut.

You could also add the August Doorbell Cam, which allows you to see people at the door, and communicate with them if need be. When connected to your August Smart Lock Pro, you can unlock the door via the app.

If you live at home and your Airbnb is a part of your house, you may have issues where your August smart lock unlocks the door when you check who rang your doorbell (if you have your phone in your hand or pocket). This may be a security issue that you need to consider.

We felt that the battery life was OK, and the app does notify us when the batteries are low. Overall not many negatives…mostly all positives for the August Smart Lock Pro. We use these locks in most of our properties, and overall have been very impressed with their performance. Check out pricing HERE. >>

How do I Add August Smart Lock to Airbnb?

Integrating the August smart lock with your Airbnb app is easy.

  1. From the menu in the August app, choose works with and select Airbnb.
  2. Choose Connect Airbnb.
  3. Tap Allow to integrate your accounts.
  4. At the prompt to allow August to access Airbnb, choose OK.
  5. When the integration is successful, you will see a Green Arrow by “works with”.

Does August Lock Work with VRBO?

The August smart lock integrates with VRBO. Just be sure to access your Home Away app and set up the smart lock on your desktop.

How Does August Home Work with Airbnb?

August Home works perfectly with your Airbnb app. The integration allows each guest to receive a unique door entry code. If they haven’t downloaded the app that allows access with their code, you can text it to them or send it through the Airbnb app.

Can You Automate August Lock with Airbnb?

With the August smart lock integration to Airbnb’s app, you can automate the lock with your property. The August app lets us send a code to our guests through the app but if they would like a door code for the number pad, we can send that code, too. This auto-lock feature allows for a completely seamless guest experience.

Other Good Smart Lock Alternatives for Hosts

Yale Assure Lock

Our runner-up is the Yale Assure lock. This is a strong contender with the August lock mentioned above. We have used these in a couple of our Airbnbs and felt that overall this was a well-rounded lock for Airbnb hosts.

$198.05 $213.86
2 new from $198.05
7 used from $99.00
Free shipping
Amazon Amazon.com
Last update was on: May 28, 2024

The Yale Assure Lock is an August product, but still has the trusted name hold of Yale. This lock is meant to replace your existing deadbolt with its keypad feature, but still has the option for key entry if you need it. The Yale Assure Lock can be used with the August app, so you can lock and unlock the door from the comfort of your phone. 

Smart Compatibility

This Airbnb smart lock is compatible with smart devices like Alexa, Google Home, and even Siri, so you can operate the door with voice commands. 

Pros & Cons

Positive
  • Easy pairing with other devices
  • Easy installation
  • Long battery life
  • High-quality material and hardware
  • Quick Z-Wave communication makes for a quick lock and unlock
  • Helpful customer service and access to a customer service helpline
Negatives
  • This smart lock will not work with every door as it is best suitable for thicker doors
  • You will need to purchase a separate hub to use it with other smart devices
  • Does not work well on a weak Wi-Fi connection
  • Does not have unique access codes for guest entry

The key code entry makes it convenient for guests in your Airbnb, as you can simply include the door code on check-in instructions. This type of entry makes your home more secure and relieves you of the hassle of lost keys.

Styles and Durability of the Yale Assure Lock

There is a wide range of design styles, from traditional styles to a more contemporary look. You can easily install the Yale Assure Lock without worrying it will look out of place. It is weatherproof, so you will not have to worry about wear and tear on the exterior side of the lock. 

How do I Use Yale Smart Lock with Airbnb?

The Yale smart lock works well with the Airbnb app. Since it integrates with the app, you can have the access code sent directly to your guest and communicate with them through the app to resolve any issues.

Does Nest Yale Lock Integrate with Airbnb?

The Yale smart lock works well with the Airbnb app. Since it integrates with the app, you can have the access code sent directly to your guest and communicate with them through the app to resolve any issues.

Does Yale Lock Work Remotely?

The Yale smart lock integrates fully with your Airbnb app to allow locking and unlocking the door remotely.

Do Yale Locks Work with August App?

The Yale lock does work with the August app. Just follow the in-app directions to add the Yale lock.

How Secure are Yale Smart Locks?

All Yale locks have a grade 2 security rating, which is next to the highest level. Their encryption and advanced authentication prevent hacking but no smart lock is ever foolproof.

Is Nest Yale Lock Being Discontinued?

While the Nest Yale lock has been discontinued, you can still use your lock with a Nest Connect or Nest Guard as the bridge.

Schlage Lock BE469ZP

The Schlage Lock BE469ZP by Schlage is a great Airbnb smart lock to pair with Z Wave smart technology. This makes it easy to also pair with Samsung technology, SmartThings, or Ring Alarm. These technologies will allow you to lock and unlock doors from anywhere. 

Positive
  • Easy installation process
  • Pairs with most smart technology, including Alexa
  • Pairs with Z Wave and SmartThings technology to ensure safe and hassle-free use 
  • Allows for multiple code programming, including unique access codes for guest entry
  • Long battery life
  • Has a wider range of door sizes that it can be installed on (1 3/8″ to 1 3/4″, and 2 3/8″ to 2 3/4″)
  • Easy control and monitoring from smartphones and tablets
Negatives
  • Low luminosity on the keypad, making it difficult to see in the dark or poor lighting
  • Not compatible with Vera Edge or Wink systems
  • Loud beep notifications during locking and unlocking of the door
$227.29 $239.99
3 new from $227.29
7 used from $127.05
Free shipping
Amazon Amazon.com
Last update was on: May 28, 2024

Hands-Free Voice Control

The Schlage lock has hands-free voice control when paired with the Z Wave smart home system and can be paired with Alexa as another method of voice control. Z wave technology makes it easy to control your smart lock and does not require an extra purchase. This is one of its best features. 

Pros & Cons

The Snap ‘n Stay technology snaps the lock to your door during installation, allowing both your hands to be free when installing. This Airbnb smart lock also has an easy installation process, as you will just need a screwdriver. 

Multiple Codes for Guests

The keypad screen is fingerprint resistant, making it easy to share multiple access codes (the Schlage Lock allows up to 30, which is convenient during busy booking times.)

SmartThings Hub

The SmartThings hub that is available as an add-on gives you an extra security measure, as you can see when the door is locked and unlocked. There is a feature that allows you to set an emergency code, so if you want to have a code for yourself and your guests, you can activate it whenever they stay. 

Overall, this smart lock is on par with the rest of Schlage’s heavy-duty deadbolts. The lock is very durable and consistently runs well over a long period of time.

**If you are living in your home while hosting, you might want to consider bedroom locks. Check out our article on the best Airbnb bedroom locks here…>>

Reagle Smart Deadbolt Lock 

The Reagle Smart Deadbolt Lock is most notable because of its compatibility with Apple. It is Apple HomeKit certified, and with that, you can check the status of your Airbnb lock, open and close the door remotely (including voice command with Siri), and you can get notified when people come through the door.

Amazon Amazon.com
Last update was on: May 28, 2024

It can be difficult to use multiple technological services for one device at times, so having the Apple HomeKit makes this lock convenient for iPhone users. 

Pros & Cons

Positive
  • Easy technology for iPhone users
  • Easy installation process
  • Easy management of multiple locks
  • Unique access codes for guest entry
  • Voice command technology
  • Low battery sensor
  • Sleek design
Negatives
  • Can be complicated to use if you are not an iPhone user
  • Some of the design includes plastic, which can make the product less heavy-duty (depending on weather conditions over longer periods of time, door type, etc.)

Installation

Reagle claims that it takes just 15 minutes and a screwdriver to install this smart lock. All you need is your phone to further install the programming and start using the Reagle Smart Deadbolt Lock. You can also receive notifications when the batteries are running low, so you will not have to worry about the lock not working while you are away due to battery issues. 

Custom Temporary Access

As an extra measure of security, the Reagle Smart Deadbolt Lock has the ability to create custom temporary access shared through the Reagle App. You can even manage multiple Reagle locks if you have them on multiple Airbnbs. This technology makes this lock safe and easy to keep track of the security of your Airbnb.

ULTRALOQ U-Bolt Smart Lock

The ULTRALOQ U-Bolt lock by Ultraloq is a multifunctional Airbnb smart lock. The 5-in-1 entry lock includes smartphone pairing, auto-locking and unlocking, and a mechanical key lock option making it a versatile option that can fit any Airbnb. It also has Bluetooth pairing available, making it even more user-friendly.

$109.00
1 new from $109.00
2 used from $79.00
Free shipping
Amazon Amazon.com
Last update was on: May 28, 2024

Pros & Cons

Positive
  • Fingerprint lock technology
  • Bluetooth pairing and Wi-Fi access
  • Unique access codes for guest entry
  • Alerts smartphones when the door opens and closes via the lock’s U-tec app
  • Automatic lock system
  • Lightweight yet secure lock design
Negatives
  • Short battery life
  • Issues when multiple users use Wi-Fi on the same lock
  • Weather in rainy or cold climates can cause a few issues with the fingerprint technology

The anti-peep keypad allows you to type in random numbers, along with the password (as long as the password is embedded into the longer set of random numbers), making it difficult for protentional onlookers to gain access to the door. The auto-locking and unlocking feature locks the door as soon as it closes, and you can set it up so that it unlocks upon arrival as well. 

Unique Code for Guests

One of the ULTRALOQ U-Bolt’s best features is that you can give access to guests with a special code or ekey, lasting for custom periods of time. This is a great feature for Airbnb hosts, as you can change it after each visit for an extra measure of security. 

This smart lock has dual data encryption, making it impossible to unlock the door without the homeowner’s permission. This lock ensures the highest level of safety. 

Does Ultraloq Work with Alexa?

ULtraloq works with any wi-fi-enabled device, including Alexa. From the Alexa app, you complete the following steps:

  1. In the Alexa app, locate the sidebar menu.
  2. Choose skills and games where you will find U-tec.
  3. Choose U-tec home and “click enable to use”.
  4. Click on the link that appears and login to U-tec.
  5. Choose “authorize” in the U-tec app.
  6. Select the Ultraloq smart lock from the device list.
  7. Within the settings option, choose “unlock by voice”.
  8. Your Ultraloq is connected to Alexa now.

Does Ultraloq Require a Subscription?

Ultraloq does not require a subscription. Any smart lock can be operated from the free app.

NexTrend Smart Deadbolt 

The NexTrend Smart Deadbolt prides itself on its high standard of convenience and safety. The keyless entry system allows Airbnb hosts to enter a smart code, use Bluetooth, set permanent access codes, timed codes, one-time codes, cyclic codes, or custom access codes, and has an auto-locking function that can be set anywhere from 5 to 120 seconds. 

Send Guests Your eKey

An extra measure of convenience is that hosts can send the Ekey to guests via the free app. Once a user is authorized, they have access to the Ekey, and can control the lock. This makes it especially convenient for Airbnb hosts, as you will not have to monitor or control the lock while you have guests. Instead, they can do it on their time. This will make for an overall convenient stay in your Airbnb or vacation rental. 

[Newest]Smart Lock, NexTrend Smart Electronic Door Lock with Bluetooth Keyless, Touchscreen, Mechanical Keys Enabled Auto Lock Alarm Technology for Home,...

Amazon Amazon.com
Last update was on: May 28, 2024

Pros & Cons

Positive
  • Long battery life
  • Excellent customer service
  • Compatible with smartphones and tablets
  • Easy to control via the app
  • Multiple types of access codes, including unique codes for guest entry
  • Sleek design
Negatives
  • Only one user can use the app for a given lock at a time
  • Lengthy installation instructions

Another important feature the NexTrend Smart Deadbolt lock prides itself on is its customer service and warranty policy. They promise a 30-day worry-free return and exchange service, as well as lifetime free technical assistance with the lock. 

NexTrend App

One problem with the NexTrend app is that it connects with existing software. More well-known smart locks have developers who are continually updating the app but less-known smart locks may not have that capability. We don’t like the chance that your lock stops working when you least expect it.

Warranty

The battery life is higher than most smart locks, as it can last up to 5,000 door openings on just 4 AA batteries. 


Video Smart Lock by Gate Labs

The Video Smart Lock by Gate Labs is one of the most technologically advanced on this list. It comes with many features, along with add-ons such as extra battery capacity, and a premium plan. 

You can control this smart lock from remote locations via the Gate app. With this app, you can prevent unauthorized access with a keypad lock, unique access codes, and an entry log. In addition, there is a doorbell feature, two-way audio, and motion-activated live streaming, which are all available on the app, providing you with remote access.

Amazon Amazon.com
Last update was on: May 28, 2024

Pros & Cons

Positives
  • Live-stream video capability
  • Two-way voice communication ability
  • Admin controlled lock via the app
  • Compatible with smartphones
  • Battery-free
  • Weather-resistant
  • Unique access codes for guest entry 
  • Entry log
Negatives
  • Shorter warranty than some on this list
  • Auto-lock feature locks the door in 10, 20, and 30-minute increments, which can be too long of a lapse in time based on preference
  • (Depending on user preference) the battery-free charging system 

Communicate Through The Lock

The motion-activated live streaming alerts you when there is someone at your door. You can use the two-way audio feature to communicate on the live stream as well. This is the ideal smart lock for Airbnb hosts or vacation rental owners who are utilizing a back house, basement rentals, or rooms on the property, as you can communicate directly with guests upon arrival.

Multiple User Functionality

The app allows for multiple users to operate on one lock, allowing one person to be the admin, giving the ability to lock, unlock, and play video on the app. This Gate Labs smart lock is also battery-free and can be charged quickly.

Weather Resistance

The front of this smart lock is weather resistant and can withstand temperatures from -4 degrees Fahrenheit to 185 degrees Fahrenheit. It should be noted that the back of the smart lock intended for the interior is not weather resistant.

There is a great warranty of a 30-day money-back guarantee, and when purchased on Amazon you can back it up with a 3 or 4-year protection plan.

As the most high-tech smart lock on this list (due to the video access), we love its functionality and high-tech functions. We find the video monitoring very useful and easy to use and the set-up time is quick. 

Smart locks are an important tool to make your Airbnb and vacation rental homes the best they can be and provide guests with an excellent experience. While they can be pricy, they are a worthwhile investment to boost the overall quality of your rental property and help guests to have the most comfortable and safe time possible.

Most of these locks have long and flexible warranties for smart hardware, so you can try out these products and decide for yourself which one is right for you. Installation is quick and easy, and most do not require you to replace existing locks, so it is not permanent.

**Make sure and check out all of our Airbnb living room essentials here...


Related Questions:

What Other Extra Security Measures can I Implement to Make Sure my Airbnb is at the Highest Level of Safety?

Alarms and security cameras are effective ways to add extra security to your Airbnb or vacation rental. However, many of the smart locks listed feature advanced technology that allow alerts when the door is unlocked, when people come in and out of the door, and alerts when the door is unlocked or not fully closed. In addition, they provide auto-locks as an extra security measure. 

This is not only helpful for you to monitor the security of your Airbnb, but also to help guests feel safer. They can download the apps associated with the smart locks (because each lock has its own app, you will need to check each lock to ensure your guests have the right one downloaded) and monitor door security for the duration of their stay. 

What Kind of Hardware do I Need to Install Smart Locks?

Most smart locks only require a Philips head screwdriver to install and do not require you to drill holes or make alterations to your door or previous locks. All other hardware should be included with the purchase of the lock. Be sure to check the product information before you purchase it to ensure that the lock can be installed onto your door.


Ryan Drew- Contributor
Show full profile

Ryan Drew- Contributor

I'm an Airbnb Superhost sharing my Airbnb journey and tips that I've learned along the way.

Rental Recon
Logo
Register New Account
By registering with this website, you agree to join our newsletter.